Sunday, September 29, 2013

The scrappy trips around the world has now taken the place of honor on the floor. This is the upper left hand corner. The upper right hand corner is mostly pink. The lower half of the quilt devolves to browns and oranges. An unplanned four seasons quilt, I guess. (The fractured quilt is sewn together waiting for a border, and the wedges from yesterday are lined up by the sewing machine.)

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Friday, September 27, 2013


Here are my fractured blocks laid out on the floor. You know your cat is old when you lay out your blocks in the evening and there is only one out of place in the morning.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Tommy said he would stand in as my object of design if I promised to promote his blog on Tumblr: TripodTommy.tumblr.com. He gives fashion advice to shelter cats to help them get adopted based on his vast experience living in a shelter: where vast is a couple of weeks back in 1996 and the shelter was a room in a townhouse run by the Humane Society. That said, he did have to share the room with his brothers and sister.

Monday, September 23, 2013

The raccoon and the weeds are in the playoffs to see who gets control of the garden. My money is on the weeds.

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Saturday, September 21, 2013

I finished all the blocks for the scrappy trips around the world and now have to figure out how I will lay them out. Well, first, I really do need to fix the overhead lights. I didn't realize how poorly the square on the bottom left fit in until I saw the photo.

Friday, September 20, 2013

Here's my progress on the fractured quilt-a-long with Vicki W. This pattern demands strong contrast, so I started a "I'll show them, let's try multi-color low contrast." Well, let's not go there... So here is my second attempt. Oh, and when Vicki said her version was king size, I was scared into using a smaller grid, so my block size is 9.5 inches.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Friday, September 13, 2013

 I am so excited about the fractured quilt along that Vicki W. is holding over on her blog. I bought the book and have been sewing like crazy all week although the two overhead lights in my sewing room gave out.
I cut all my strips, sewed them together, cut apart the strips and am now sewing the blocks. For once I get to hang with the queens of productivity!

Oh wait...these are my blocks for February's Quilt Along with Melody...I wonder how they will look fractured?

Thursday, September 12, 2013

With a little time and effort you can make more elaborate tie-dye patterns...with photoshop.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

On Sunday, some friends came over to tie-dye. Here is some tie-dyed fabric that I made into a pillow case. Sweet dreams!

Tuesday, September 10, 2013


  
 
New clocks so I can remember what time it is: Tommy Time! The clocks are from Zazzle and the artwork behind the image of Tommy are by Cassandra Tondro.